top of page

Where I Am, Where I'm Going


A NEW BEGINNING Greetings, everyone! This is my first blog post on my new page. Like life, I'm still figuring out how this works so bear with me as I try to make this page my own. Currently, I am in Michigan staying with my parents. It's been wonderful to reconnect with old friends, play games, and have conversations about life, love, and Jesus. I am gearing up to start my new job as a software developer next week, but many of you know this is not what my heart beats for...

I have applied to be a missionary associate under the Assemblies of God to Germany. When I originally filled out the application, in my mind it would be a one year commitment. While I was chatting with the missionary who invited me out to the field he said, "With all your experience, you should come for two years!"


This process will take months to complete: background check, credit check, interview with the District, physical...I have been busy making sure I fulfill all the requirements necessary to gain approval. Then after that several month long process comes fundraising. Then, after being fully funded, I can go to the field. With all this in mind, I'm estimating that I will be in Michigan living, working, and preparing for the field for at least a year. Part of me is chomping at the bit thinking, "Ahh, it's too far away! I want to go now!" But wisdom says, "It's going to go by quick, how will you use your time?"


I've started preparing for the field by taking Bible classes online. I've also been reading some good books like "Evangelism and the Sovereignty of God" by J.I. Packer. Maybe I'll write a separate blog about that topic. It's important to wrestle with hard questions like "If God is sovereign why if there a need for Christians to go and share the gospel? If you're chosen, isn't your fate decided for you?" Nothing like a cup of coffee and a wrestling match with Jesus over predestination and human responsibility in the morning. But my faith isn't grounded in my abilities, knowledge, or qualifications. It's grounded in Jesus, the author and perfecter of my faith, the One who died on a cross and rose three days later for the sin of mankind. Apart from Him I can do nothing of value.

Thank you for joining with me on this journey.

PRAYER REQUESTS - Spiritual Growth: No growth comes without humility or admitting deficiency in an area. I have a lot to learn, but more importantly I want a deeper relationship with Jesus. - Developer Skills: I'm praising God for a job to help pay the bills, but with it comes a responsibility to do a good job. Pray that I would continue to grow in this skill (like Paul with his tent making) and that I would be an asset to my new workplace. - Community: That I would continue to reconnect and build new relationships in this season I am in. That I would bloom where I am planted and share the love and light of Jesus wherever I go.



155 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

This Is The One You’ve Been Waiting For!

Here's what I've been up to for the past week (in order). Get very sick. Quit my job. Receive financial clearance from AGWM (all that is left to raise is $175 in monthly commitments!) Attend Michigan

About Me

me.jpeg

Thanks for staying connected to my journey as I figure out this thing called life.

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page